US announces adding 6 Russian entities on its blacklist for trade restrictions

United States

The US Commerce Department announced Friday that it is imposing trade restrictions on six Russian entities previously identified as acting against the United States’ national security or foreign policy interests.

“These six entities are being added in accordance with Executive Order 14024, Blocking Property Related to Specific Harmful Foreign Activities of the Russian Federation, which was issued on April 15, 2021,” the Commerce Department said.

The entities include the Aktsionernoe Obshchestvo AST, the Aktsionernoe Obshchestvo Pasit, the Aktsionernoe Obshchestvo Pozitiv Teknolodzhiz, the Federal State Autonomous Institution Military Innovative Technopolis Era, and the Federal State Autonomous Scientific Establishment Scientific Research Institute Specialized Security Computing Devices and Automation Obshhenoveno.

The entities were previously sanctioned by the US Treasury Department for allegedly operating in the Russian Federation’s technology sector and providing support to Russian Intelligence Services.

On April 15, US President Joe Biden declared a national emergency in response to the Russian government’s alleged harmful foreign activities. Executive Order 14024 by Vice President Biden establishes a legal basis for sanctions against Russia for alleged election meddling, cyberattacks, and persecution of dissidents and journalists. Russia has denied any wrongdoing on numerous occasions.

(Only the headline, some content and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Mixpoint Team; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed. The meaning of the content has not been altered in any way.)

Leave a Reply